v
 
 
Home > Curriculum > Mother Tongue

Mother Tongue

Objectives of Learning the Mother Tongue Language

1. Communication - The Mother Tongue language is an important skill for life and work. In addition to pupils' mastery of English Language, being proficient and able to communicate in MTL gives pupils a competitive edge.
2. Culture - Learning MTL enables our pupils to understand and develop their unique identity through a deeper appreciation of culture, traditions, literature and history.
3. Connection - Proficiency in MTL enables pupils to connect with communities across Asia and the people who speak that language or share that culture.

Mother Tongue Languages taught in MCS

We offer Chinese, Malay, Tamil and Hindi. At P5 and P6, parents can also opt for their children to do Higher Mother Tongue or Foundation Mother Tongue.

Mother Tongue Language Teachers 2016

Note: Classes reflected are MTL classes which may be different from Form Classes due to banding.

MTL Teacher

Language

MTL Classes Teaching

Email Address

Mdm Chang Ee Chian

Chinese

1Z, 2G

chang_ee_chian@moe.edu.sg

Mdm Tan Li Kiang

Chinese

2H, 3H

tan_li_kiang@moe.edu.sg

Mdm Toh Gek Ing

Chinese

2Z, 3Z, 5I 

toh_gek_ing@moe.edu.sg

Mdm Koh Ee Ee

Chinese

2C, 5P

koh_ee_ee@moe.edu.sg

Mrs Yao Hwee Hong

Chinese

2I, 3C, 5Z

tan_hwee_hong@moe.edu.sg

Ms Loh Soo Gek

Chinese

2P, 3I, 5C (HCL)

loh_soo_gek@moe.edu.sg

Mdm Lee Phui Hong

Chinese

2RT, 5H (HCL)

lee_phui_hong@moe.edu.sg

Ms Li Fangqin

Chinese

3P

li_fangqin@moe.edu.sg

Ms Zhong Qiaolin

Chinese

1P, 4G, 6G

zhong_qiaolin@moe.edu.sg

Ms Koh Sock Yong

Chinese

1I, 2RY, 6Fdn

koh_sock_yong@moe.edu.sg

Mdm Khoo Ying Poh

Chinese

1G, 6C (HCL)

khoo_ying_poh@moe.edu.sg

Ms Lee Sieh Yee

Chinese

1C, 4C, 6Z

lee_sieh_yee@moe.edu.sg

Mdm Lee Soh Fei

Chinese

4P, 6P

lee_soh_fei@moe.edu.sg

Ms Lin Yingying

Chinese

4Z

lin_yingying@moe.edu.sg

Ms Ke Jingqi

Chinese

3G, 4I, 5G

ke_jingqi@moe.edu.sg

Ms Jasmine Tan

Chinese

1H, 6H (HCL)

tan_su_hsien_jasmine@moe.edu.sg

Ms Normala Salleh

Malay

P2, P3, P5

normala_salleh@moe.edu.sg

Mr Mohammad Adib

Malay

P1, P4, P6

mohd_adib_suhaimi@moe.edu.sg

Mrs Eswarren Raj

Tamil

P1, P6, P6 HTL

kasthuri_bai_v_l@moe.edu.sg

Mrs Mahes Nair

Tamil

P2, P3, P5

mahes_nair@moe.edu.sg

Mrs Malar Raj

Tamil

P4, P6, P5 HTL

thirumalar_ganesan@moeedu.sg

Mrs Sudha

Hindi

sudhaagarwal9@gmail.com


Department Activities

A) SPEECH AND DRAMA (compulsory for P1 and P2 pupils, within curriculum time)

test
test

DSC_4004.JPG


















B) MOTHER TONGUE FORTNIGHT (July 2016)


C) FESTIVE CELEBRATIONS (Chinese New Year, Hari Raya, Mid Autumn Festival, Deepavali


















Chinese New Year Celebrations 2016

Pupils had lots of fun enjoying classroom, canteen and hall activities!

The New MTL Curriculum (New P2 Curriculum rolled out in 2016)

Children learn best when they are engaged in meaningful learning environment. The 2015 MTL  Curriculum is designed to allow the child to learn and use the language in an active and interactive way. Besides learning to use the language in a variety of authentic settings, the child will also experience a learning journey rich in culture and values. The aim is to help every child to like, learn and use their MTL as a living language, and produce proficient users who can communicate effectively in a variety of real-life settings.

Highlights of the new MTL curriculum:
1. Growing up and learning alongside the pupils, the story characters in textbooks will engage the pupils in the learning of MTL.
2. Using big books to teach vaocabulary and sentence structures.
3. Putting into practice what they have learnt - Pupils acquire oracy skills through situational dialogue and role playing.
4. Using Information & Communication Technology to enhance the teaching of MTL.

new p1 books.jpg